In the mood for Love

*Deep breathing* aahhhh. Love. One of the mysteries of human life.

As Walt Whitman once said, “I have learned that to be with those I like is enough”, anthropologists have found evidence of romantic love in 170 societies. They have never found a society that didn’t have it. But  hold on ! Don’t fall into the trap that easily just yet. Love isn’t always a happy experience.

Maybe this is because I’m a girl, but I always used to think about the day I meet : the one. But it’s not just me….. right ?  *awkward silence*    Let’s just admit it, okay. We have been brainwashed by everything that we consume. Romantic comedies, ads, novels, disney movies, you name it. Everything led us (or maybe just me…?) to believe that one day we will find that one man, that perfect guy with the perfect hair, that horse-riding knight, that adventurous thief, that prince charming. Pffftt what a rip off !!

Everything that I’ve consumed had successfully made me believe that men have this superpower to read minds. As a result, every time I am having an argument with a guy, and he says something hurtful, he would be like “I’m sorry, are you okay ?“. And I’ll be all “I’m fine“, which is a total lie, obviously.

You see, when I say “I’m fine“, I expect him to hear me say “I want you to know that I am not okay with the things you’ve said and that it hurts me and that I really wanna punch you, but I can’t because you are so big and I’m gonna end up hurting my own hand. So please just give me a hug. And maybe some soft cookies.”

While, really, all he heard is “I’m fine“.

I grew up thinking that I’m gonna find this perfection from a man. Yet, we’re not perfect. So how could we expect someone else to be ?

*Sighing* Love. One of the mysteries of human life.

Leave a Reply

