Tsuboya Museum Visit

DSC04264Since I had been to Tsuboya town, I remember thinking that the trip to Tsuboya Pottery Museum will be boring and uninteresting. But boy, I was wrong. I have this feeling of amazement once I got out of the bus and walking around Tsuboya Town to reach the museum. This kind of feeling emerged not only because of arayachi and jouyachi pieces being displayed behind the glass, but also because of the dynamics of people outside the museum.

In order to reach the Tsuboya Pottery Museum, I had to walk down the Tsuboya town. On the road, I could easily pick up the ambiance of Okinawan’s earthenware production. From pairs of Shisha, teapots, tea cups, to roof tiles, you name it and they’ll have it. Tsuboya pottery is, no doubt, has been a part of Okinawan culture. It preserves the policy taken by Ryukyu government decades ago and the development of society itself.

Entering the museum, although I was having a hard time understanding Okinawan dialect, I was really enjoying the tour in general. As I have experience in making pottery once, I found it interesting to see a very big pottery, almost as tall as I am. The evolution of Tsuboya pottery can also be seen from the display of pottery buried from time to time. Not only that, I got to see Okinawan traditional house, in which I was able to understand the usage of pottery on daily basis. I was shocked because some of the utensils are similar to what I have in my country, Indonesia. I saw the pottery used as burial urn, and the tools and equipments needed to make a pottery.

Walking around the area also showed the evolution of Shisha, which reflects greatly on how Okinawan became the way they are now. The area is integrated with nobori-gama and a place where the citizen could gather and worship the God that protects Tsuboya. Okinawan culture can easily be seen, if only one knows where to look.

One thought on “Tsuboya Museum Visit

Leave a Reply

